Our other sites

  • Lyxor ETF

    A pioneer in the ETF market since 2001, Lyxor is one of Europe's largest ETF providers, offering investors more than 220 ways to explore the markets.
  • Lyxor FUNDS

    The Lyxorfunds website allows you to find out more about the Lyxor funds range, its documentation, market and product news.
  • MYLyxor MAP

    MyLyxorMAP website is dedicated to the Lyxor Managed Account Platform (MAP). It offers access to a comprehensive range of managed accounts, providing transparency, liquidity and independent risk management. It may also include other funds managed by Lyxor.
  • Lyxor JAPAN

    Corporate information on Lyxor Asset Management Japan Co. Ltd. , its publicly offered domestic funds, and general information in Japanese about Lyxor.
  • Lyxor IN GERMANY

    Find out more about Lyxor International Asset Management Deutschland, created from the combination of Lyxor’s activities in Germany and the asset management activities division of Commerzbank’s EMC business.
Date
Catégorie
Expert Opinions

Why Lyxor decided to publish the temperatures of 150 ETFs

Premier paragraphe

In January 2021, Lyxor Asset Management published the temperatures implied by more than 150 of its ETFs, a significant step in giving investors critical information to assess the impact of their portfolios on global warming. Florent Deixonne, Head of SRI at Lyxor Asset Management, explains how investors can use this information in the fight against global warming.  

Image détail
Why Lyxor decided to publish the temperature of 150 ETFs
Contenu

Why did Lyxor decide to publish the temperatures of 150 of its ETFs? 
 
The world is at a critical juncture. We must all take collective action to address the climate challenges we face if we are to limit global warming to less than 2 degrees, or more optimistically 1.5 degrees, in line with the ambitions of the Paris Agreement. 
 
The asset management industry has a key role to play. Every financial asset, stock market index and investment portfolio, through the business activities of companies it invests in, has an impact on global warming. This puts asset managers like Lyxor in a strong position, because we can steer investors, who are increasingly climate-aware, to reallocate funds in a way that actively supports the transition to a low carbon economy.  
 
The implied temperature of assets is a likely to become a key metric in portfolio allocation decision-making. This means that for asset managers, assessing the impact of investments on global warming will become an integral part of their fiduciary duties. And for investors, it’s also a straightforward and easy to understand indicator, helping them navigate towards a more climate-friendly trajectory in portfolio construction with relative ease.
 
How does Lyxor assess the temperature of ETF funds?

 
The methodologies for accurately stating the degree of warming potential of an investment portfolio are cutting edge and are constantly evolving. We work with climate data specialist S&P Global Trucost, specialized in assessing risks related to climate change and a subsidiary of global index supplier Standard & Poor’s, to ensure that we refine our approach on an ongoing basis.  

The methodology is based on climate scenarios developed by international authorities such as the International Energy Agency (IEA) or the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).  This is combined with two models recognized and used by companies to determine the decarbonisation trajectory of their businesses. First, the Sectoral Decarbonisation Approach (SDA), developed by the Science Based Targets Initiative for sectors with high levels of greenhouse gas emissions, such as power generation, steel production, or aviation, etc...The second is the Greenhouse gas Emissions per unit of Value Added (GEVA) approach for other sectors.

By combining these two approaches, we can accurately assess companies’ alignment with the Paris Agreement, across all sectors. 
 
How do temperature metrics contribute to the evolution of climate investing?
 
ETFs and consequently the indices they replicate, have varying temperature measures, which means varying impacts on global warming, depending on the decarbonisation trajectories of all the companies which are part of the index.
 
The energy transition calls for long-term changes. Companies whose temperature is high today may therefore see their temperatures drop over the coming years. 
 
Going forward, disclosing temperature measures will raise companies’ and investors’ awareness on the need to step up their efforts to limit global warming.  
 
It’s also important to remember that the disclosure of fund temperatures isn’t the only tool at the disposal of asset managers to help investors support a low carbon economy. Investors can invest in innovative products that are already aligned with the Paris Agreement, such as climate ETFs. Asset managers can also consult with companies and use their voting power at General Meetings to encourage them to accelerate their decarbonisation programmes.
 
One thing is certain: temperature metrics will become increasingly important in portfolio allocations.

Our other sites

  • Lyxor ETF

    Pionnier sur le marché des ETF depuis 2001, Lyxor est l'un des premiers fournisseurs d'ETF en Europe, offrant aux investisseurs plus de 220 façons d'explorer les marchés.
  • Lyxor FUNDS

    Le site Lyxorfunds vous permet d’en savoir plus sur la gamme de fonds Lyxor, leur documentation, ainsi que sur les actualités de marché et celles de nos produits.
  • MYLyxor MAP

    Le site MyLyxorMAP est dédié à la plate-forme de comptes gérés Lyxor (MAP). Il donne accès à une gamme complète de comptes gérés, offrant transparence, liquidité et gestion des risques indépendante. Ce site peut également inclure d'autres fonds gérés par Lyxor.
  • Lyxor JAPON

    Retrouvez plus d’informations sur la société Lyxor Asset Management Japan Co. Ltd., ses fonds nationaux et les informations générales sur Lyxor en japonais.
  • Lyxor EN ALLEMAGNE

    Retrouvez plus d’informations sur Lyxor International Asset Management Deutschland, née du rapprochement des activités de Lyxor en Allemagne et des activités de gestion d’actifs du pôle EMC Commerzbank.
Date
Catégorie
Paroles d'expert

Pourquoi Lyxor a décidé de publier la température de 150 de ses ETF?

Premier paragraphe

En Janvier 2021, Lyxor Asset Management a publié la température de plus de 150 de ses fonds ETF, une étape importante dans notre démarche d’apporter aux investisseurs l’information nécessaire pour évaluer l’impact de leurs portefeuilles sur le réchauffement climatique. Florent Deixonne, Responsable ISR de Lyxor Asset Management, explique comment les investisseurs peuvent utiliser ces informations dans la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique.  

Image détail
Why Lyxor decided to publish the temperature of 150 ETFs
Contenu

Pourquoi Lyxor a décidé de publier la température de 150 de ses ETF ? 

Le monde se trouve dans une phase critique. Nous devons tous prendre des mesures collectives pour relever les défis climatiques auxquels nous sommes confrontés et limiter l’élévation des températures en-dessous de 2 degrés, idéalement 1,5 degrés, conformément aux objectifs de l’Accord de Paris. 
Le secteur de la gestion d’actifs a un rôle clé à jouer. Tout portefeuille, tout indice, tout benchmark, à travers les activités des entreprises dans lesquelles il investit, a un impact sur le réchauffement climatique. Les gérants d’actifs comme Lyxor sont en position de force, en incitant les investisseurs, soucieux des impacts climatiques, à réorienter leurs capitaux vers des investissements qui favorisent la transition vers une économie bas carbone.  
La mesure des températures des fonds va devenir une variable clé dans les décisions d’allocation de portefeuilles.L’évaluation de l’impact des investissements sur le réchauffement climatique devient un élément central dans l’exercice de la responsabilité fiduciaire des gérants d’actifs. Les investisseurs peuvent aussi utiliser facilement cet indicateur, pour construire des portefeuilles plus respectueux du climat. 

Comment Lyxor a évalué la température de ses fonds ETF? 

Déterminer avec précision le degré de réchauffement potentiel d’un portefeuille d’investissement relève de méthodologies de pointe et est un sujet en constante évolution. Nous travaillons avec S&P Trucost - spécialiste des données climatiques et filiale du fournisseur mondial d’indices Standard & Poor’s – afin d’affiner notre approche de manière continue.
Notre méthodologie se base sur des scénarios climatiques élaborés par des organisations internationales faisant autorité, comme l’IEA ou le GIEC, combinée avec deux modèles reconnus et utilisés par les entreprises elles-mêmes pour définir la trajectoire de décarbonisation de leurs activités. Tout d’abord, la Sectoral Decarbonisation Approach, développée par la Science Based Targets Initiative pour les secteurs fortement émetteurs de gaz à effet de serre comme la production d’électricité, la production d’acier, l’aviation etc. Ainsi que l’approche Greenhouse gas Emissions per unit of Value Added pour les autres secteurs.
En combinant ces deux approches, nous pouvons évaluer avec précision l’alignement des entreprises avec l’Accord de Paris, et cela dans tous les secteurs.  
 
Comment la mesure des températures contribue t-elle à une évolution des investissements responsables? 
 
Les ETF, et par conséquent les indices qu’ils répliquent présentent des degrés de températures plus ou moins élevés, ce qui signifie qu’ils ont un impact plus ou moins important sur le réchauffement climatique, notamment en fonction des trajectoires de décarbonisation de l’ensemble des entreprises comprises dans l’indice. 
La transition énergétique demande des changements à long terme. Les entreprises dont la température est élevée pourraient donc voir leur température baisser dans les années à venir. 
À l’avenir, dévoiler la température des fonds sensibilisera les entreprises et les investisseurs à la nécessité d’intensifier leurs efforts afin de limiter le réchauffement climatique. 
Il est important de garder en tête que la mesure des températures n’est pas le seul outil que les gérants d’actifs mettent à la disposition des investisseurs pour favoriser l’émergence d’une économie bas carbone. Les investisseurs peuvent investir dans des produits innovants d’ores et déjà alignés sur l’Accord de Paris, comme les ETF climat. Les gérants d’actifs peuvent aussi dialoguer avec les entreprises et utiliser le pouvoir que leur donne le vote en assemblée générale pour inciter les actionnaires à accélérer leur programme de décarbonisation. 
Une chose est sûre, la mesure des températures prendra une place de plus en plus importante dans les allocations de portefeuilles.